To have to educate yourself about racism instead of experiencing it all your life, in and of itself, is a privilege.

The fight for racial equity is not a fight that can be fought by any one person or race alone, and it's going to take more than a week of listening. It starts with identifying hard truths about our own lives, and the things we've allowed to continue because it was either uncomfortable, or inappropriate to speak up. The world is coming to understanding that the comfort of White people is not worth the lives of Black people, and it's time to start speaking out and showing up for our fellow humans.

I've comprised a list of resources and references of where to donate, where to learn, and how else we can help the Black community as we move forward.

xoxo caitlyn

List of petitions and charities, including bail funds, mutual aid funds, and activist organizations.

Literature, Podcasts, and Courses that dive into un-learning deep seeded racism and white-centered behavior.

Creators, Artists, and Black-Owned Businesses in the bridal industry, as well as vegan and cruelty-free beauty, and Baltimore vegan restaurants.

Healing begins where the wound was made.

- Alice Walker

Petitions to Sign

JUSTICE FOR BREONNA TAYLOR

Donate to the crowdfunder to help fight for the Justice for Breonna Act

Sign the petition on Change.org

Justice for George Floyd

Justice for Ahmuad Arbery

Justice for Tony McDade

Justice for Nina Pop

Justice for Sandra Bland

Justice for Elijah McClain

Justice for Elijah McClain : Against the Reinstating of Aurora Police Officers

Justice for Jacob Blake

for more racial justice petitions click here

Sign Black Lives Matter petitions to demand more form the government in regards to the Coronavirus, as well as Racial Data on the Coronavirus.

Sign the Movement for Black Lives’ petition to push elected officials to fight against militarization in communities of color.

 
Cassi Claire Caitlyn Meyer Bridal Hair and Makeup Baltimore MD DC VA Destination Weddings Cruelty Free Vegan Artist

Where to Donate

Black Lives Matter blacklivesmatter.com

Support the movement for Freedom, Liberation and Justice for Black people, and the ongoing fight to end state-sanctioned violence and end white supremacy.

Act Blue : secure.actblue.com 

Split a donation between up to 70+ community bail funds, mutual aid funds, and racial justice organizers.

The Bail Project :  bailproject.org

National nonprofit organization that pays bail for people in need.

Sylvia Rivera Law Project : srlp.org/donate

Provides direct representation for low-income transgender people and transgender people of color.

The Black Trans Advocacy Coalition : blacktrans.org/donate

National organization led by Black trans people, dedicated to addressing inequality in health, employment and housing for trans people.

The Loveland Foundation :   thelovelandfoundation.org 

Healing communities of color, especially to Black women and girls. 

The Innocence Project :  innocenceproject.org

Exonerates the wrongly convicted through DNA testing and reforms the criminal justice system to prevent future injustices.

Black Artists + Designers Guild :  badguild.info

Nonprofit organization cultivating the next generation of black artists and designers

 
Sophie Kaye Caitlyn Meyer Bridal Hair and Makeup Baltimore MD DC VA Destination Weddings Cruelty Free Vegan Artist

Educators & Online Courses

Rachel Cargle : @rachel.cargle 

Public academic, writer, and lecturer. Subscribe to a free 30-day #DoTheWork course, designed to be an eye opener and call-to-action for those who seek to be allies to black women. Also available is her signature lecture on Upacking White Feminism.

The Great Unlearn : @thegreatunlearn 

Curated by Rachel Cargle, The Great Unlearn provides resources and critical discourse to aid in unlearning through a monthly, self paced syllabus and a community of various experts.

Nova Reid : @novareidofficial

Inspirational speaker, campaigner, and writer. Subscribe to her Anti-Racism Guide, and sign up for her online courses on Anti-Racism & White Privilege and Diversity for Small Business.

Rachel Ricketts : @iamrachelricketts

Racial justice educator, spiritual activist, change-maker, healer, and author. Offers several online courses in Spiritual Activism, for diving deep, facing discomfort, and dismantling racist hetero-patriarchy at rates for both BIPOC and White/White-passing. 

 
this bridge called my back

Books

Me and White Supremacy : Combat Racism, Change the World, and Become a Good Ancestor, Layla Saad
Eloquent Rage : A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower, Brittney Cooper
Heavy : An American Memoir, Keise Layman
How to Be an Antiracist, Ibram X. Kendi
Just Mercy : A Story of Justice and Redemption, Bryan Stevenson
Redefining Realness : My Path to Womanhood, Identity, Love & So Much More, Janet Mock
Sister Outsider : Essays and Speeches (Crossing Press Feminist Series), Audre Lorde

So You Want to Talk About Race, Ijeoma Oluo

The Bluest Eye, Toni Morrison
Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

White FragilityRobin DiAngelo

The Fire Next Time, James Baldwin
The Next American Revolution : Sustainable Activism for the Twenty-First Century, Grace Lee Boggs

I know Why the Caged Bird Sings, Maya Angelou

The Warmth of Other Suns : The Epic Story of America's Great Migration, Isabel Wilkerson

The New Jim Crow : Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness, Michelle Alexander

This Bridge Called My Back : Writings by Radical Women of Color

"The Bridge Poem" from This Bridge Called My Back

 
Curved and Co Caitlyn Meyer Bridal Hair and Makeup Baltimore MD DC VA Destination Weddings Cruelty Free Vegan Artist

Podcasts

1619 

Code Switch

Lynching in America 

Momentum : A Race Forward Podcast

Intersectionality Matters with Kimberlé Crenshaw

The Groundings : Exploring moments in social justice history from a decolonial lens.

Pod for the Cause : From the Leadership Conference Civil & Human Rights

Good Ancestor 

Nova Reid

 
lynn dunston photography

DMV Black-Owned Wedding Vendors

Renee Hollingshead : @reneehphoto reneehollingshead.com

Photographer, Washington DC & Florida

   

Rudney Novaes : @rudneynovaes rudneynovaes.com

Photographer, Baltimore MD

Lynn Dunston : @lynndunston lynndunston.com

Photographer, Washington DC & California

Winnie's Bakery : @winniesbakery winniesbakery.com

Pastry Chef, Columbia MD

Favored by Yodit : @favoredbyyodit favoredbyyodit.com

Planning, Washington DC

Alicia Wiley : @aliciawileyphotography aliciawileyphotography.com

Photographer, Baltimore MD

Angelica & Co : @angelicacoweddings angelicaandco.com

Planning, Washington DC & Charlottesville VA

Sugar Taylor : @sugartaylorco sugartaylor.co

Planning, Washington DC

GetPlated : @getplateddc getplateddc.com

Catering, Washington DC

Carrie Coleman : @carriecolemanphoto carriecolemanphotography.com

Photographer, Charlottesville VA

Full list of  Black-Owned DMV Wedding Businesses on Washingtonian.com

Photo by Lynn Dunston

 

Black-Owned Vegan & Cruelty-Free Beauty

Mented Cosmetics : @mentedcosmetics

Vegan

Beauty Bakerie : @beautybakeriemakeups

Vegan & Cruelty free

Nola Skinsentials : @nolaskinsentials

Vegan, Cruelty free & Clean Skincare

The Lip Bar : @thelipbar 

Vegan & Cruelty Free

Lamik Beauty : @lamikbeauty

Vegan, Cruelty free & Clean

Juvia's Place : @juviasplace

Vegan friendly & Cruelty free

Danessa Myricks Beauty : @danessa_myricks

Cruelty free

Fenty Beauty : @fentybeauty

Vegan friendly & Cruelty free

Pat McGrath Labs : @patmcgrathreal

Cruelty Free

Coloured Raine : @colouredraine

Vegan friendly & Cruelty free

 
 
Madeline Trent East Made Co Caitlyn Meyer Bridal Hair and Makeup Baltimore MD DC VA Destination Weddings Cruelty Free Vegan Artist

DMV Black-Owned Vegan Restaurants

The Greener Kitchen : @thegreenerkitchen

Baltimore MD

Dodah's Kitchen : @dodahskitchen

Baltimore, MD

The Land of Kush : @thelandofkush

Baltimore MD

Refocused : @refocusedvegan 

Baltimore MD

Flight American Fusion : @flightbaltimore

Baltimore MD

The Greenhouse Juice Cafe : @greenhousejuicecafe

Baltimore MD

Gangster Vegan Organics : @gangsterveganorganics

Baltimore MD

Elife Restaurant : @eliferestaurant

Capitol Heights MD

Sprout Natural Choice 

Catonsville MD

Nu Vegan Cafe : @nuvegancafe

College Park MD

Visit vegnews.com for an extensive list of Black-Owned Vegan Businesses in the US